A diary entry in the style of ‘Tales of Mere Existence’

Because this is my blog and I’ll post whatever I want. I’m a big fan of the comics of Levni Yilmaz entitled ‘Tales of Mere Existence.’ You can find them on youtube. Anyway I wrote a journal entry today and realized it’s in a very similar style to his writing, so I wanted to post it.

Today I woke up at around 8:30, but knew I didn’t have to get out of bed until 10 so I did just that. I went to see Dr. Hirsch and he asked me stupid questions and didn’t really listen and interrupted me a few times before kicking me out of his office after 15 minutes.
I went up to my school to practice my scene with Gabi, my acting partner, but there was a class going on in the rehearsal room so we went and sat on one of those stone benches by the mansion that look like they’re from the 1800’s.
We read through our lines once but then started talking about all sorts of other things and found we have a lot in common. She has depression too, maybe worse than me. After an hour or so of chatting on that bench thing, I suggested we go get bagels and I took her to that bagel place in Suffern. She looked through my ipod and approved of my taste in music.
Then I dropped her off and drove home. At home I told my mom that Dr. Hirsch sucked and that I got a lot more therapy today just talking to Gabi. Then I watched Whatever Works but I thought it was kind of crappy by Woody Allen standards. After that I tried to watch another movie, an old Abbott and Costello one, but I got bored quickly and shut it off.
I had the urge to play Halo 3 again, so I popped it in but basically got my ass handed to me. After a few rounds, I got bored of that too. I shut it off and now I’m writing this and wondering why things I used to really enjoy don’t really hold my interest anymore.
There’s plenty of other stuff I could do now, but I’m afraid they’ll bore me too and then I won’t know what to do.
But at least I made a friend today.

-john

PS. Here’s my favorite Tales video

http://www.youtube.com/v/FomroPMOKvg?fs=1&hl=en_US

