A new endeavor

Last week I got a completely random call from a literary agent who’s looking for interns. My reaction: hoo r u? It turns out that he got my resume from a contact at a company I interviewed with for a fall internship but didn’t get. We met in the city for coffee on Monday and I took the position. He’s spent the last year or so starting up his own agency and working 60 hours a week (the idea of working that much makes me want to hide under my blankets), so he’s seriously in need of extra help. He’s going to e-mail me a promising manuscript every two weeks and I get to take notes on it and then Skype with him and share my opinion. The whole experience got me thinking about odd or unexpected forms of networking–really, every little effort has the potential to create an entirely new opportunity somehow!

