Thoughts on the Rally

Ah, the Rally. To be quite honest I don’t have a whole lot to say about it. I can tell you that navigating around thousands of people is always frustrating – a lesson I learned at Obama’s inauguration last January. I can tell you that they really should’ve had more jumbotrons because myself and thousands of others couldn’t see a thing. I can tell you that I saw hundreds of signs, many of them quite funny (here are some of the best).

But I can’t really tell you what it was about. Nobody really can. Especially not the media, as this article will explain (though I don’t really agree with its LOL! THE MEDIA IS STUPID! LOL! thesis). While some were there to celebrate American unity, others showed up to mock the Tea Party movement, while some people were just there advocating the legalization of pot.

Yes, it was a hippy fest. Yes it was a leftist event, but I knew that going in. As a leftist myself, I didn’t mind. But I do find it a bit phony to pretend that its message was “Can’t we all just get along?”

I’ll be the first to admit that the mainstream media sucks shit. It is indeed a machine of corporate interests and fear mongering intended only to cater to its niche audiences and shill products from its sponsors. I am all for the fight against sensationalist headlines and extremist analysts. That’s a cause I can support.

However while I was at the rally I couldn’t help but feel slightly bothered by something.

Back in 2005, one of my favorite comedians, Dave Chappelle,¬†abandoned¬†his television show in the height of its popularity and took a leave of absence in Africa. Rumors flew that he had a crack addiction or had just lost his mind. When he finally returned he was a guest on Inside the Actor’s Studio, where he described at length the circumstances that lead him to ditching a multi-million dollar deal.

Anyway none of that is really relevant to the rally, but the following thing he said stuck with me.

As much as I disagree with Sarah Palin and Glen Beck and most conservatives, I think to classify them as being downright insane may have been a little dismissive, as Dave said.

